At What Age Can Children Be Left Home Alone? Texas Parents Want To Know!
Now that school will finally end for everyone in Midland, Odessa, and surrounding areas, the question is, what to do with the kids? For single, working mom's like me, the task becomes finding a sitter. For others it is, well I have a teenager in my house now, is he/she old enough to stay home alone? Is he/she old enough to get a job?
These are literally questions that parents have this time of year. School is out for summer and for some, the task of finding a sitter or having teens find a job is at hand.
AT WHAT AGE CAN KIDS STAY HOME ALONE IN TEXAS?
The Texas Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS) recommends that children under 12 should not be left home alone.
Additionally, parents and caregivers can be charged with neglect or endangerment if a child is left alone in a harmful or hazardous situation. Thus, it is wise to check with local authorities if you have questions.
*HOW OLD DOES YOUR TEEN HAVE TO BE TO GET A JOB THIS SUMMER?
State law is that children as young as 14 can get a job but can work no more than 8 hours a day, cannot work more than 48 hours a week, and are not able to go to work earlier than 5 am.
AT WHAT AGE CAN A CHILD RIDE IN THE FRONT SEAT?
There is no specific Texas law that states at what age a child can sit in the front seat, however, According to versustexas.com,
Most vehicle manufacturers’ require and recommend keeping all children 12 years and younger in the back seat.
As a mother of 3, I have used my own discretion and common sense when it comes to what works for our family.